Countess Vaughn Developed a Severe Scalp Infection

Actress and singer Countess Vaughn, best known for her roles on 227, Moesha and its successful spin-off The Parkers, is one of the first African-American women to land her own sitcom. But behind the glitz and glamour of fame, Countess has been battling an embarrassing condition that has negatively impacted her health and her self-esteem.

“Working in the industry for so long, I’ve always had different looks, so I’m used to wearing wigs,” Countess says. “In 2004, my hairstylist introduced me to front-laced wigs, and I fell in love with them immediately.”

Lace front wigs are designed with a sheer fabric on the underside, which blends seamlessly with skin tones and creates the appearance of natural hair growth. They have become the style of choice for the majority of women who wear hairpieces, and in Countess’ case, she wore her lace front wig as often as possible.

Five years later, however, Countess developed a severe scalp infection, which resulted in skin discoloration in the affected area, as well as dramatic hair loss. “I let this go by for six months,” Countess says. “What I didn’t realize was I had a bad reaction to the glue that I used to apply the wig.”

Leave a Reply

